Presentation of the GCSP [fr]

The Geneva Centre for Security Policy is the oldest of the three Genevan centres. Created during the mid-eighties as a formation cycle for “security policy experts”, the Centre was supposed to form individuals supposed to occupy specific positions related to security policy in the federal administration (mainly foreign and military affairs). Initally reserved for Swiss citizens, the Centre progressively opened up to other neutral countries, to European countries and to members of the NATO Partnership for Peace. The Centre is offered through the Partnership by Switzerland since 1996.

Quickly accessible to the citizens of the new democracies in Eastern Europe, the GCSP has formed a great number of individuals in the field of security policy, thus contributing to spread common values facilitating the exchanges and the cooperation between these “new countries” and Western Europe. Besides the educational background properly speaking, the Centre has developed a monitoring policy in order to ease the personal contacts through alumni networks. This leads to vivid and relevant discussions between states regarding security policy matters, bringing an effective contribution to the euro-atlantic stability.

The recognized value of the teachings offered by the GCSP has attracted rich personalities from the political and academic worlds and enabled the centre to acquire a new dimension. The geographic enlargement observed during the nineties has been completed by an academic extending, leading to the recognition of the GCSP as an exchange and thinking centre in the context of international security policy.

Nowadays, the Centre offers a wide range of services to the international diplomatic community between education, analysis and dialogue facilitation.

The Director of the Centre is the Ambassador Christian Dussey (Switzerland) and the President is Jean-David Levitte (France).

The GCSP benefits from a financial support from the Swiss government as well as contributions provided by certain States, members of the Foundation Council (Germany, Denmark, France, United Kingdom, Sweden).

publié le 19/06/2020

top of the page